This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Darß/Fischland Subcounty (Germany)

Amt Darß/Fischland, Landkreis Vorpommern-Rügen, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

Last modified: 2020-04-04 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: darsz/fischland | wustrow | brig | sun(radiant) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Wustrow municipal flag] 3:5 image by Jörg Majewski, 4 Apr 2020
flag of Wustrow Municipality See also:

Darß/Fischland Subcounty

The subcounty has no proper symbols.
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 2 Apr 2020

Municipalities without proper Flags

The following municipalities have no proper flags: Ahrenshoop, Born upon Darß, Dierhagen, Prerow and Wieck upon Darß.
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 2 Apr 2020

Wustrow Municipality and Spa/ Ostseebad Wustrow

Wustrow Flag

It is a blue-yellow-blue vertical triband with ratio of stripes 1:3:1. The coat of arms is in the middle of the yellow stripe.
Source: this online catalogue
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 4 Apr 2020

Wustrow Coat of Arms

Shield Azure a brig Argent, in canton a radiant sun Or.
Wustrow is the main village of Fischland, a narrow strip of land between the Baltic and Saaler Bodden, a local lagoon. The village became a dominion of the Dukes of Mecklenburg since 1669. The main business lines had been agriculture, stockbreeding and fishery. From the middle of the 18th century merchant shipping became the main business line for around 100 years. Since 1881 tourism prevailed and Wustrow became a seaside resort. In 1846 a merchant navy academy was established. The sun is representing the seaside resort. The ship is representing shipping and the academy.
Source: Hans-Heinz Schütt:"Auf Schild und Flagge" , Schwerin 2011, p.353
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 4 Apr 2020

The arms were approved on 20 August 1997 by Minister of Interior of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and published in the Municipal Roll of Arms Mecklenburg-Vorpommern as no.134. The flag has never been approved officially.
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 4 Apr 2020

back to Vorpommern-Rügen cities and municipalities click here