This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Lubumbashi (Democratic Republic of Congo)

Last modified: 2019-08-06 by bruce berry
Keywords: congo | lubumbashi |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Tomislav Šipek, 14 Apr 2017 See also:


Lubumbashi is located in the southeastern part of Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and is the second-largest city in the country.  It is the mining capital of the DRC, acting as a hub for many of the country's biggest mining companies.  The copper-mining city also serves as the capital of the relatively prosperous Katanga Province and is near the border with Zambia.

The city was established by the Belgians in 1910 and named in honour of their queen Elisabeth, wife of King Albert I. Élisabethville served as the capital and centre of the secessionist independent state of State of Katanga between 1960 and 1963. The name of the city was changed in 1966.
Bruce Berry, 26 May 2017

Flag of Lubumbashi

image sent by Bruce Berry, 26 May 2017

The flag of Lubumbashi comprises two equal vertical panels of red and white.  Red and white are also the predominant colours in the city's emblem.
Tomislav Šipek
, 14 Apr 2017