This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Salesópolis, São Paulo State (Brazil)

Last modified: 2013-02-02 by ian macdonald
Keywords: sao paulo | salesópolis |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Salesópolis, SP (Brazil) image by Ivan Sache, 22 January 2013
Based on:

See also:

Description of the Flag

Four horizontal stripes, green-yellow-white-red, with two rows of 13 blue stars on the white stripe, and in the upper hoist a blue square bearing a red map of Brazil, with a yellow star in the centre.

Official website at
Dirk Schönberger, 22 January 2013

The municipality of Salesópolis (15,639 inhabitants in 2010; 42,584 ha) is located in São Paulo Metropolitan Area, 110 km of São Paulo. Salesópolis was granted the title of Tourist's Resort by State Law No. 10,769 of 19 February 2001. The National Park of the Sources of River Tietê (134 ha), located in the borough of Pedra Rajada, 15 km of the downtown, is the main tourist's spot in Salesópolis. River Tietê is the main and most emblematic river in São Paulo Province, used by the pioneers as a main way of colonization of the hinterland and known, accordingly, as the Pioneers' River.

Salesópolis was originally known as São José do Paraitinga, a village founded by Antonio Martins de Macedo. The municipality of São José do Paraitinga was established by Provincial Law no. 9 of 24 March 1857, seceding from Mogi das Cruzes, and inaugurated on 2 December 1857. The municipality was renamed Salesópolis after a petition adopted by the Municipal Council on 8 June 1900, claiming that there were two many mistakes in the postal service between São José do Paraitinga and São Luis do Paraitinga. The new name was a tribute to President of the Republic Manuel Ferraz de Campos Sales

The symbols of Salesópolis are prescribed in Article 3 of the Municipal Constitution, last amended on 29 August 2011, as "the coat of arms, the flag and the anthem, representative of its culture and history".

The flag is prescribed by Municipal Law No. 116 of 30 December 1952. The flag is horizontally divided green-yellow-white-red with 26 blue stars in two horizontal rows of 13 stars each in the white stripe. A blue canton is charged with a red map of Brazil including a yellow star.

Green represents the forests, fields and pastures. Yellow represents the economical resources. Red represents the blood of the Salesópolis Expeditionary Corps, shed overseas to defend the democratic principles. White represents peace and concord. The 26 stars represent the 26 boroughs forming the municipality. The blue canton represents hospitality. The red map of Brazil represents the dedication to Brazil. The yellow star represents São Paulo State leading the nation.

Photos of the flag 

Ivan Sache, 23 January 2013