This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Indiana, São Paulo State (Brazil)

Last modified: 2013-04-27 by ian macdonald
Keywords: sao paulo | indiana |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Indiana, SP (Brazil) image by Ivan Sache, 10 April 2013

See also:

About the Flag

The municipality of Indiana (4,828 inhabitants in 2010, 12,760 ha) is located in northwestern São Paulo State.

Indiana was founded by Captain Francisco Whitaker, Colonel Arthur de Aguiar Diederichsen and Alonso Junqueira. Diederichsen ran, together with Francisco Tibiriça, the "Diederichsen & Tibiriça" company, aimed at building a road linking the São Paulo and Mato Grosso States; field work started in May 1906, led by Captain Whitaker. Alonso Junqueira established the Laranja Doce post, originally a ranch with a zinc roof, located on the today's site of Indiana downtown. The district of Indiana, named for the several native tribes that lived in the region, was established by Decree No. 6,638 of 31 August 1934, as part of the municipality of Presidente Prudente, and transferred to the municipality of Regente Feijó by Decree No. 7,262 of 28 January 1935. The municipality of Indiana was established by Law No. 233 of 24 December 1948 and inaugurated on 17 March 1949. - Municipal website

The flag of Indiana is quartered red-yellow. In the middle of the flag is placed a white disk charged with the municipal coat of arms.


Ivan Sache, 10 April 2013