This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Iguatu, Paraná (Brazil)

Last modified: 2022-03-05 by ian macdonald
Keywords: parana | iguatu |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Iguatu, PR(Brazil) image by Ivan Sache, 3 February 2022

See also:

About the Flag of Iguatu

The municipality of Iguatu (2,258 inhabitants in 2018; 10,694 ha) is located 500 km west of Curitiba.

Iguatu was established in 1958, as Gleba No. 09, subsequently renamed to Jaburandi, and, eventually to Iguatu, for a Tupi-Guarani word meaning "Good Water". This refers to the abundance of freshwater, but also to Rio Bom ("Good River"), a municipality located in North Paraná from which several colonists originated.
Municipal website

The flag and arms of Iguatu are prescribed by Municipal Law No. 31 promulgated on 12 November 1993.

Article 6.
The flag of the municipality of Iguatu, designed by heraldist and vexillologist Reynaldo Valascki, shall be diagonally divided per bend.
This is compliant with the norms of vexillology, according to which municipal flags shall be divided in eight, six, four or three, with the same colors as those of the field of the coat of arms.
1. The flag of the municipality of Iguatu is composed of two isosceles triangles, blue (azure) in the upper part and green (vert) in the lower part, and of a white (argent) stripe charged in the center with the municipal coat of arms.
2. The flag of the municipality of Iguatu obeys the general rule, being divided in three parts per bend. The coat of arms applied in the flag's center represents the municipal government, the white stripe represents peace, tranquility and religious spirit of Iguatu's people. The blue triangle symbolizes the firmament, beauty, nobleness, justice, perseverance, loyalty and also the beautiful veil of Our Lady. The green triangle symbolizes wealth, hope, cultivated areas, plains and forests existing over the whole municipal territory.

Article 8.
The coat of arms of the municipality of Iguatu, designed by heraldist and vexillologist Reynaldo Valascki, is described in proper words as follows.
1. A Portuguese classic shield surmounted by a four-towered mural crown argent windows gules. The shield's field divided in five distinct quarters; the upper quarter featuring a book and two quills representing education and culture in the municipality of Iguatu.
2. In the second, left quarter a sun fertilizing the municipal territory, above beautiful plantations and a tractor with a farmer growing rich, fertile lands, representing the municipality's agricultural resources.
3. In the third, right (dexter) quarter, a horse, an oxen and a pig representing the municipality's resources in animal breeding.
4. In base, a beautiful topographical landscape representing Iguatu's municipal lands; in the center, rivers Piquiri, Novais and Sapucai, as well as brooks and sources at the origin of name of Iguatu, a Tupi-Guarani word meaning "Good Water", and beautiful plains, representing the resources existing on the whole municipal territory, also a tribute to the pioneers and clearers of the municipality's rich and fertile lands.
5. In the center, a drawing of the map of the municipality of Iguatu.
6. The shield supported right (dexter) by coffee, bean and wheat plants and left by tobacco, soybean and maize plants, all proper, representing the main crops offered by the generous and fertile soil.
7. Above the scroll a cogwheel representing the municipality's industry.
8. The blue scroll is inscribed in the center in letters argent with the toponym "Iguatu" and dates "10-11-1991" and "01-01-1993", the date of political and administrative emancipation of the municipality of Iguatu.

The coat of arms has the following symbolic interpretation.
a) The Portuguese classic shield used to represent the arms of Iguatu is of German origin and was introduced in Iberia during the struggle against the Moors; it was used in Portuguese arms, namely in domains' heraldry, evoking the colonizing race and main builder of the Brazilian nationality.
b) The mural crown that surmounts it is the universal symbol of domains' arms; argent (silver) with six towers, only four of them visible in perspective view, it classifies a 3rd rank town, or municipal seat. The windows gules (red), through the heraldic meaning of this color, recall the proper attributes of the pioneers and leaders of the community.
c) Blue (azure) is a symbol of nobleness, justice, perseverance, zeal, loyalty, recreation and beauty.
d) Argent (silver) is a symbol of peace, friendship, work, prosperity, purity and religious spirit.
e) Or (gold) is a symbol of glory, splendor, greatness and sovereignty; sable (black) symbolizes prudence, moderation, authority and firmness.
f) The outer ornaments, coffee, bean, wheat, tobacco, soybean and palm fructed plants are symbols of the municipal income.
Leis Municipais database


Ivan Sache, 3 February 2022