This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Bengo Province (Angola)

Last modified: 2021-01-02 by bruce berry
Keywords: bengo | angola |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

    images by Valentin Poposki, 06 Sept 2020 See also:



The Province of Bengo is one of newest provinces in Angola which was created on 26 April 1980.  It was formerly part of Province of Cuanza Norte and is situated on the Atlantic coast in the north-west of the country.

The province is 31 371 km2 with about 430 000 inhabitants. It had larger area before 2011 following which  two municipalities, Icolo e Bengo and Quissama, were carved out of Bengo Province and transferred to Luanda Province. Now Bengo has 6 municipalities: Ambriz, Bula Atumba, Dande, Dembos, Nambuangongo, and Pango Aluquem.

Municipality of Ambriz has 3 communes - Ambriz, Bela Vista, and Tabi.
Municipality of Bula Atumba has 2 communes - Bula Atumba and Quiage.
Municipality of Dande has 5 communes - Barra do Dande, Caxito, Mabubas, Quicabo, and Ucua.
Municipality of Dembos has 4 communes - Coxe, Paredes, Piri, and Quibaxe.
Municipality of Nambuangongo has 7 communes - Cage, Canacassala, Gombe, Muxaluando, Quicunzo, Quixico, and Zala.
Municipality of Pango Aluquem has 2 communes - Cazuangongo and Pango Aluquem.
Valentin Poposki, 06 Sept 2020

Bengo Provincial flag

The province has no flag or distinctive emblem. However, it uses two generic government logos as illustrated above.
Valentin Poposki, 06 Sept 2020

Former Arms of municipalities in Bengo Province

Prior to independence, municipalities in Angola were one of three types:
City (Cidade)
Town (Vila)
Settlement (Povoacao).

Now these are communes.  Some of the former (colonial era) Arms of towns now in Bengo province are shown below.
Valentin Popski, 06 Sept 2020

Ambriz (Vila de Ambriz)

image sent by Valentin Poposki, 06 Sept 2020

Caxito (Vila de Caxito).  Caxito is the administrative capital of Bengo Province

image sent by Valentin Poposki, 06 Sept 2020

General Freire (Vila General Freire)

image sent by Valentin Poposki, 06 Sept 2020

Muxima (Vila de Muxima)

image sent by Valentin Poposki, 06 Sept 2020