Last modified: 2012-03-31 by andrew weeks
Keywords: hnevosice |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors
At this website
coat of arms and flag of Hnevošice (Opava, Moravosilesian region), adopted 27 Jan
1997. The sheep is different from the one on Exner's VexLex97.
Number of inhabitants by 31.12. 2000: 1036. The first written trace of the village dated back to 1288. Hněvošice was an independent knight's estate and vassal of Princes of Opava. Since Hussite wars Hněvošice was owned by the family of Kyjovec from Lukavec. In the 16th century the village had several owners. Under Jan Kryštof Šarovec in 1771 there were four gardens, one-hall mill, pub, pond, and a yard. At those days there were 14 farmers, 16 gardeners and 10 smallholders. J.K.Šarovec built there a small Baroque chateau. This chateau became desolate in 1795. In the village there is a timbered wooden Baroque church (kostel sv-Petra a Pavla) built in 1730 and reconstructed in 1842. The church is a unique cultural sight. The grove of Hněvošice was declared a wildlife reserve. The grove is characterised by Carpathian flora of low-laying forests.
Jarig Bakker, 10 Sep 2002